Image Processing Workshop 4- Making Selections

 

During this workshop we learnt about Making Selections and how to use the Magic Wand, Colour Range, Quick Mask, Alpha Channels and Pen Paths tools in Photoshop. 

This is the image I worked on during this workshop. We were given the task of changing the colour of a set of lips in the background of the photograph.
Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 7.02.06 PM

I started by using the pen tool to draw around the lips.
Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 9.42.58 PM

Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 9.43.05 PM

I then made the pen path into a selection which would enable me to separate the lips from the rest of the image.
Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 9.44.37 PM

I then used the quick mask tool to mask my selection.
Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 9.46.11 PM

I changed the colour of the mask to blue rather than red, to make it easier to differentiate between the mask and the lips.
Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 9.46.19 PM

I then created a new selective colour adjustment layer which would enable me to change the colour of the lips.
Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 9.46.36 PM

I adjusted the neutrals slider to change the colour of the selection.Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 9.47.20 PM

This was the final outcome. As you can see the path around the lips is quite rough, however I am quite happy with how this turned out as it was the first time I have done it this way, and if I was doing this for something other than practice I would have taken more time to make the selection neater.
Screen shot 2013-03-16 at 9.55.35 PM

Leave a Reply

